New COVID-19 Restrictions in Michigan Could Mean Jail Time for Violators
Jail time is one potential punishment for Michigan citizens who are caught violating the new restrictions that have been implemented. New cases are spiking in the US and the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) has implemented restrictions once more. The state had began to reopen, but because of the spikes, Governor Gretchen Whitmer has decided to pull back on reopening.
The MDHHS released new guidance on Thursday that requires dine-in restaurants, barber shops and salons, tattoo shops, businesses that provide in-home services like cleaning or repairs, gyms, and entertainment facilities to record personal information from each and every patron or client who uses their services.
This new “guideline” is designed to help with contact tracing efforts as each person is required to give a minimum of their name and phone number. In addition, the mandate requires businesses to refuse service to any customers who refuse to provide the information.
The order is so broad that it basically applies to everyone in the state. It says, “Upon request, businesses, schools, and other facilities must provide names with possible COVID-19 exposure to MDHHS and local health departments to aid in contact tracing and case investigation efforts.” If a person or business violates this order they could be slapped with a maximum six months prison sentence and/or a maximum fine of $200.
This new mandate also requires that gatherings do not exceed 50 people; the limit was previously set to 500. It says, “For all non-residential gatherings, if attendees are seated at tables, no more than six persons may share a table and tables must be spaced a minimum of 6 feet apart.”
Sources: The Blaze, Michigan.gov; Photo-Big Rapids Pioneer